Twelve candidates will compete in Söngvakeppnin 2016  to be Icelander participant in Stockholm.

As you know Iceland chooses their entry via a nationalfinal, called Söngvakeppnin. The national broadcaster, RUV, announced the twelve songs to be performed in Söngvakeppnin.  Firstly the acts will perfom  in two separate televised semi-finals on the 6th and the 13th of February to be in six. These six finalists will be chosen by the public through televoting. In the final, the best two will determined according to both public televoting and a jury (50/50). And finally the public will elect the winner by voting.

RUV promises a fabulous show for this year, because they celebrates thirty years in the Eurovision Song Contest and the final of Söngvakeppnin. Also in this special night  Icelandic Eurovision stars will take part on the stage.




  1. Sigga Eyrún – Kreisí (Crazy)
    Music: Karl Olgeirsson
    Lyrics: Karl Olgeirsson Sigríður Eyrún Friðriksdóttir
  2. Helgi Valur ÁsgeirssonÓvær (Uneasy)
    Music and lyrics: Karl Olgeirsson
  3. Erna Mist & Magnús ThorlaciusÓtöluðorð (Unspoken words)
    Music and lyrics: Erna Mist / Magnús Thorlacius
  4. Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir & Hjörtur TraustasonHugurminner (My mind is)
    Music and lyrics: Þórunn Erna Clausen
  5. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri SigurðarsonSpring yfirheiminn (All over the world)
    Music: Júlí Heiðar Halldórsson
    Lyrics: Júlí Heiðar Halldórsson / Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson
  6. Alda Dís ArnardóttirAugnablik (One Moment)
    Music: Alma Guðmundsdóttir / James Wong
    Lyrics: Alma Guðmundsdóttir / James Wong / Alda Dís Arnardóttir
  7. Karlotta SigurðardóttirÓstöðvandi (Unstoppable)
    Music: Kristinn Sigurpáll Sturluson / Ylfa Persson / Linda Persson.
    Lyrics: Alma Rut Kristjánsdóttir / Ylfa Persson / Linda Persson.
  8. Ingólfur ÞórarinssonFátækurnámsmaður (A broke student)
    Music and lyrics: Ingólfur Þórarinsson
  9. Elísabet OrmslevÁ ný (Again)
    Music and lyrics: Greta Salome Stefánsdóttir
  10. Greta Salome StefánsdóttirRaddirnar (The Voices)
    Music and lyrics: Greta Salome Stefánsdóttir
  11. Sigríður Eir Zophoniasardóttir & Jóhanna Vala HöskuldsdóttirÉgséþig (I see you)
    Music and lyrics: Sigríður Eir Zophoniasardóttir and JóhannaVala Höskuldsdóttir
  12. Pálmi GunnarssonÉgleiðiþigheim (I lead you home)
    Music and lyricsi: Þórir Úlfarsson