Icelandic govermental broadcaster RUV has confirmed that Iceland will participate in the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest.

Iceland’s best result is two second place finishes with Selma in 1999 and Yohanna in 2009.

The head of the Icelandic delegation said that:

“We are never happy if we don’t make it to the final. That is always our aim because the night of the final is the biggest party night in Iceland! But on the other hand we were very happy with Svala and her beautiful song Paper. She made us very proud with her performance and her fantastic voice. She is an amazing artist and we are all very happy that she took time from her busy carreer to participate in Eurovision for Iceland. There wouldn’t be an Eurovision Song Contest without Iceland.”

Eurovision 2018 Participation Map

Confirmed countries:

  1.  Austria (ORF)
  2.  Belarus (BTRC)
  3.  Belgium (VRT)
  4.  Czech Republic (ČT)
  5.  Cyprus (CyBC)
  6.  Denmark (DR)
  7.  Estonia (ERR)
  8.  Finland (YLE)
  9.  France (France Télévisions)
  10.  Georgia (GPB)
  11.  Germany (NDR-ARD)
  12.  Hungary (Duna)
  13.  Iceland (RUV)
  14.  Ireland (RTE)
  15.  Latvia (LTV)
  16.  Lithuania (LRT)
  17.  Malta (PBS)
  18.  Norway (NRK)
  19.  Poland (TVP)
  20.  Portugal (RTP)
  21.  Romania (TVR)
  22.  Russia (?)
  23.  Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  24.  Spain (RTVE)
  25.  Sweden (SVT)
  26.  Switzerland (SRG SSR)
  27.  The Netherlands (AVROTROS)

Countries that participated in the past but not in 2018:

  1.  Andorra (RTVA)
  2.  Luxembourg (RTL Lëtzebuerg)
  3.  Monaco (TMC)

Uncertain countries:

  1.  Montenegro (RTCG)

Source: RUV